dogs · nutrition · running

day in the life

in thinking about the blog posts I like to read the most, the more personal ones usually come up. I really admire people who just put it all out there in the internets, and while I don’t think I’ll ever quite get there (consider yourselves lucky…), a “day in the life” kind of post seemed like a fun idea. I picked last Thursday because it contained a little bit of everything work-wise and was non-stop busy until around 8:00 p.m., which is pretty typical lately. Here we gooooo.

5:30 a.m.Β wake up right before my alarm and Peanut staring at me from her “spot” in my/our bed above my pillows. I like this spot because she is comfy and there is little chance I can roll over on her. She sneezes and it’s too cute, and we snuggle for a few minutes before getting up. I’m reading Rebecca Scritchfield’s new book Body Kindness, and the chapter I read before bed the night before was all about sleep. So naturally, I think too much about how important sleep is and couldn’t fall or stay asleep. Oh well.

she woke up like this

6:15 a.m. we are back from our walk around the neighborhood and I feed Peanut her breakfast before heading out for my run. She is excited for breakfast and then not excited that I am leaving, but Mommy wants to run. I have about half a banana with some peanut butter and head out. This was a cool-ish morning and I felt pretty good. As I come out of my sleepy haze about 2 miles in, I remember that I have an interview with Runner’s World about marathon fueling (!!) and think of things I want to say. And also pinch myself because, #livingthedream. I see my friend Baker just after I get pooped on by a bird. That’s good luck, right? I ran for a little more than an hour, which is my current happy place.

7:30 a.m. get home and say hi to Peanut, quickly shower and make breakfast.

sprouted grain toast, greek yogurt,Β berries, nuts butter, more berries and coffeeeeeee

8:45 a.m. after getting ready, practicing Peanut’s new commands (we are learning the simple stuff like sit and stay during our weekly training class), checking emails and watching a little Today, we head out to daycare.

9:00 a.m. drop Peanut off at daycare. We just started going this week and I was so nervous that she wouldn’t make dog friends or there would be a mean dog or she would hate it. But, so far so good. I say goodbye to her and get a little too emotional when leaving. I am an unapologetically crazy dog mom and I’m ok with it.

9:15 a.m. stop at Whole Foods to buy the perishable ingredients for my meal prep class at work that night, like veggies, shrimp and tempeh. I do one of these classes every month or so for my patients and it’s super fun. I’m not allowed to use heat because it’s a fire hazard, so thinking of things to make requires some creativity. Tonight we’re making Vietnamese spring rolls with a peanut dipping sauce and I’m pumped.

9:45 a.m. arrive at work. Check my patient schedule and the treatment schedule of ladies receiving chemo that day to see if there is anyone I need to follow up with. I don’t have anyone until noon so I prep for my Runner’s World interview at 10:30.

11:10 a.m. the interview went well (I think, stay tuned for the October issue!). I head to the hospital cafeteria for lunch because I’m usually always starving by 11:00 a.m. and that’s when they switch over to lunch. Get my usual and head back to my office.

greens, tuna, avocado (brought from home), broccoli, chickpeas, quinoa salad and baked sweet potato

12:00 p.m. after having lunch at my desk reading some articles, I head down to our chemo suites to see a few patients. A lot of my work is with women who have already undergone treatment for breast cancer and who are doing very well. They are survivors and they are all amazing. Another good chunk of my work is with ladies currently undergoing treatment (i.e., chemotherapy), and while the day to day mix changes, today was a mostly treatment day.

1:00 p.m. run upstairs to meet a dietetic intern who will be with me for the afternoon. I love having interns and always find myself talking non-stop about all things nutrition and breast cancer I want them to learn. It’s also interesting to hear what they’re doing during their internship, since most of them that come to the hospital were in the same internship I did. Still not nearly enough talk on intuitive eating and embracing a non-diet practice, but hopefully we’ll get there.

2:30 p.m. we see another patient after picking her up some fruit ice from the cafeteria, and then get to work on some meal prep class prep. Ha. Today this was basically chopping a lot of vegetables, putting down table cloths, that kind of stuff.

3:30 p.m.Β leave work to pick Peanut up at daycare, take her for a little walk and feed her dinner before heading back into work for my class. I live about 25 minute walk away and am usually too stubborn to take a cab or even Uber, so walking wins. Before heading back, I inhale some whole milk Greek yogurt and Purely Elizabeth granola (my fave, so good) straight from the 32 ounce yogurt container and remember that I forgot to have a snack in the afternoon.

5:00 p.m. get back to work and finish prepping, check some emails and do some other admin things.

6:00 p.m. my class starts and I’ve got about 15 ladies participating. They are skeptical at the preparation of rice paper for the rolls, but they go with it and it actually works! I am relieved. I usually talk a bit about nutrition as we’re preparing our meals, so we touch on things like cruciferous veggies (we had some cabbage) and healthy fats (in the peanut sauce!). We also have shrimp for the rolls and I ensure them that although shrimp does contain cholesterol, it’s absolutely fine to eat and won’t affect blood cholesterol. Ditto for eggs. I love telling people they can eat eggs. We chat, we eat, and start to clean up.

success!

7:30 p.m. I save the cutting boards and knives to clean the next day and make sure the conference room (where I have my classes) is clean. Head out into the gloriously lovely summer evening and walk home with my intern, who was a huge help.

8:00 p.m. try not to think about how tired I am and take Peanut for her last walk of the day. I wish she could tell me about the friends she is making at daycare and if she likes it or not, and then think that I worry too much about her having human feelings. She tries to say hi to another dog on the walk and I think daycare is making her more brave and social. Hooray! When we get home, I have more yogurt and granola because I was talking too much to eat enough during the class. Typical. Peanut looks at me with her little puppy dog eyes and I give her some yogurt.

impossible to resist

9:00 p.m. we wind down and get ready for bed. I remember to do some journaling, and then we get into bed while I read a bit more Body Kindness before shutting the lights off. Thankfully, this chapter was not on sleep and I drift off instantly.

2 thoughts on “day in the life

Leave a Reply

