dogs · nutrition · running

catch up – nutrition news, running & puppies

I reallllly want to make posting a regular thing on here, but it will probably always be the first thing to go when life gets busy. And that’s ok, I have to be nice to myself on this one. Half-assing a blog post when I should be snuggling with Peanut on the couch isn’t useful for anyone anyways. But! Here I am with a little bit of time, so let’s catch up.

I was on a podcast!
I’ve recently gotten into podcasts – they make for some excellent walk to work or afternoon baking listening – and my favorites are of course running and/or nutrition-related. So I was super excited when Ali started her own podcast earlier this year, and it’s (not surprisingly) fantastic. She’s an excellent interviewer and always has interesting and inspiring guests. I’m lucky to have known Ali personally since our very early blogging days (in 2010, perhaps? WOW), and was super honored she asked me to be on the show last week. I love any excuse to talk about nutrition, my job, running and dogs and it was so nice to have an hour on the phone to talk to Ali, whom I don’t see very often anymore now that she’s an official New Jersey resident.

on the podcast we talked about my job, the difference between a registered dietitian, a nutritionist, a health coach (etc.) and why it’s so important to know the difference, did some nutrition myth-busting and also chatted running and rescue dogs. It was so, so fun and I’m thankful for anyone who listened already.

post-run overnight oats with all the fixings from the other day

the new york times wrote this
if you have ever been on any sort of “diet” (so, 99.9% of us, right?) this is such an important read. Actually, read this even if you are one of the few who has never been on a “diet”, because you likely know someone just like the author. Her first-hand account with chronic dieting and body image issues is heart-breaking and so common among the women I see and women in general. This kind of disordered eating (and yes, dieting can absolutely lead to disordered eating) is often overlooked in society today because it’s so normalized and accepted. But it’s not normal to categorize foods as “good” and “bad,” to restrict foods, food groups and calories, adhere to strict food “rules” and always be striving to try the next weight loss miracle. This passage especially got me: “I decided to stop dieting, but when I did, I realized I couldn’t. I didn’t know what or how to eat. I couldn’t fathom planning my food without thinking first about its ability to help or hinder a weight-loss effort.”  Having this sort of relationship with food is a terrible and unnecessary way to live your life, which food is and always will be, a big part of. It’s so hard to break out of, especially under the influence of social media, but it’s totally possible and so freeing (especially with the help of a non-diet dietitian!). I think surrounding yourself with positive and accepting people, messages and influencers is a great way to start. And be nice(r) to yourself!

running has been A+
maybe it’s the no pressure, not really training for anything mindset, but I’ve really been enjoying my runs lately. So much so, that I’ve been incorporating some regular workouts like weekday speedwork and a weekend tempo/long run combo. Right now my long runs (or “long runs” if you are reading this in the midst of marathon training) are about 12-13 miles, which is a nice happy place that doesn’t feel too long or take up too much time but also is significant and not easy. If that makes sense. I still want to do a few fall races – right now thinking of a 10 miler and a few half marathons – and see what happens. The no pressure mindset is key, though, and I don’t want to lose the simple enjoyment of running by making training super structured and rigid as I’ve done in the past.

peanut is a doggy school graduate
peanut graduated from her six week adult doggy training class with flying colors. She passed her “test,” where she had to do all of the commands we learned, on the first try. I was and am such a proud dog mom. She has come so far in the past six months, and this class was perfect to help build her confidence and learn some basic commands. The class was at Petco, and I highly recommend for anyone with a similar rescue dog situation.

is there anything cuter?

other stuff to talk about (help!)
I feel like there is so much nutrition-related stuff I want to write about that I don’t know where to start! If you’ve made it this far in the post (anyone? Bueller?), I’d love to hear what nutrition topics you’d like to hear about. I need some inspiration!